Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Australian Security Worker

Return to Website Recent Posts HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterBroadcast Message to Admin(s)  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Static guards dont mean asleep (Read 21435 times)
Reply #41 - 19. May 2018 at 17:41

laurie8781   Offline
New Contributor
Workers Unite

Alert Board Moderator about this Post! 
I believe there is a difference between falling asleep accidentally on the job and coming to do a static shift preparing to sleep in the car for the shift!
I have fallen asleep during a static shift looonnngg ago when I started security, I had done big hours in my day job and then looked after a rubbish tip where I had no transport to do patrols. I was told to stay in the office and chuck the heater on as it was a cold winters night.
I work as a supervisor for a civil construction company and I  organised a guard for site to watch power transformers over the weekend. I had guards booked from the security company I work for. I went past the job site on the sunday about 0830, shift change was 0600, the guard was asleep in his car, passenger seat laid back, blankets on the windows, pillow and blanket on him. I stood there and took video of him for about 5 mins or so right next to the car! I woke him up by banging on the car roof, and told him, As the client, I was not impressed! He denied everything and said he had permission from his boss to cat-nap! As the a long time senior guard from the company we both worked for, I had him sacked. I rang the boss and told him what had happened and the boss confirmed my decision. If he had just fallen asleep in the later part of the shift, I may have gone easier on him. If it was at night time and not during the day. As it was AND he came PREPARED to fall asleep during shift, this is why I had him fired.

IP Logged

Reply #40 - 13. May 2018 at 23:51

tywo   Offline
Medium Level Contributor
Workers Unite

k9handler wrote on 19. Oct 2009 at 09:53: